Northoaks

Member Rating:
3.8 out of 5
Address: 20 Woodlands Cresent 738081
Tenure: 99-year Leasehold
Units For Sale: 49   View listings View listings
Units For Rent: 52   View listings Search Singapore Street Directory
Reviews: 24   Check reviews bluearrow
Ask Guru Q&A: 14   Read Q&A bluearrow
24 Reviews For This Building
1

Potential Building Cracks and Sinking Ground

Posted by Red'Tan on May 22, 2013

I have read many articles, news, feedbacks and etc. with high possibilities of building cracks and sinking ground nearby in the radius of 200m within the site of construction during the construction of underground road, viaduct and tunnel.

These are evident by all previous cases such as Watten Estate and Singapore River surrounding area, (just to quote). Amazingly, NorthOak is just next to the North South Expressway.

In some instances, where the building are declared unsafe and resulted being acquired by authority to demolish, the compensations are just miserable and time wasting.

Even if it is still safe and repairable, what will happen to the price and the condominium as a whole?

Note that the NSE is a super deep viaduct project tunneling under the seabed.

Anyone have convincing information that the NSE projects that will be ongoing till 2035 will not affect these condominiums, both NorthOak and Woodsvale?
I recommend this building for: Families with Children and Peace & Quiet.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
50%
50%
report_abu
2

Nearest condo to woodlands waterfront devt

Posted by Jen on Mar 2, 2013

The recent URA land use plan announced the development of the woodlands admiralty waterfront belt into an innovative commercial corridor with residential development and MRT link to JB Malaysia have huge impact on raising the value of both private condo & HDB in this area. Invest in woodlands now to reap the immense potential for future value appreciation in the north.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
67%
33%
report_abu
3

price to be badly affected?

Posted by Mr. Timmy Tan on Apr 23, 2012

With the upcoming construction of the expressway right at the doorstep of Northoaks, the price of the condo will surely be badly affected. (maybe down by 30%). not a good investment from my point of view.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.2)
Interior / Units
(2)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
40%
60%
report_abu
4

North South Expressway

Posted by Mr. chee loong tan on Apr 18, 2012

Saw a lot of units to sell in the listing. Is it really that many residents eager to sell their units due to the incoming projects?
Personally I think Northoaks is a good condo. Perhaps also a good value to buy in terms of the strategic location! Nevertheless, blocks facing Gambas Avenue (28 and 30) may not have serious problem and still a good place to stay, at least for me!
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities and Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(4)
100%
0%
report_abu
5

Noise-Oaks?

Posted by Regency on Mar 29, 2012

With the new N-S Highway coming up, the viaduct bridge will be directly beside the units facing Gambas ave. Wouldn't it be very noisy with traffic on viaduct and the road on the ground? I really like Northoaks but this is going to be one big headache.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(3.8)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(3)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(4)
100%
0%
report_abu
6

Do not worry about the N-S highway project

Posted by Hengky Chang on Jan 19, 2012

Dear Northoaks residents, do not worry about the North-South highway project too much, in fact we residents of northoaks should be happy on this new N-S highway project. Once the new N-S highway project completed, the Northoaks location will become very good. Imagine the entrance of highway very near to your home, it will be very convenient to go to city/toa payoh/braddell area, i reckon it would only take 10-15 minutes to reach city. Just bare with the construction for about 1-2 years required to complete the section infront of the condo. For those who worry and decided to sell ASAP, you have been incited by property agents so that you would sell your units and they will earn the commission. I have view many condos below $1M and none of them would match the beautifulness and the big size of the condo units in Northoaks. For those who want total quiteness, please stay in the jungle and listen to the cricket sounds:) Cheers
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.8)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
67%
33%
report_abu
7

Northoaks or North South Highway Oaks ?

Posted by Royston on Dec 5, 2011

Currently staying in Blk 28 and understand that LTA has announced the building of NS highway along Gambas and ,many of the neighbours from blk 28 and 30 have already sold off their units to escape from the 7 years noise coming soon from the highway construction. Secondly heard that the viaduct entrance is just infront of Seagate and going up to 5-6 storeys high...Agents have hinted for quick sell....IS there anyone else that heard something different? Like this place but the highway may drive my family crazy....hard to decide on sell or stay
I recommend this building for: Families with Children and Peace & Quiet.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
50%
50%
report_abu
8

UNDER PRICE CONDO

Posted by andy tan on Aug 14, 2011

Woodsvale/Northoak condo are really under value.

Woodsvale/Northoak condo selling price only from ($650PSF - $700PSF) compare to new ECs selling price from ($700PSF - $750PSF)

Eg: New HDB BTO units are always ($100k - $200k) lower than 5-10yrs old HDB units of the same size and same area, becos of the 5yrs cap.

EC condo have the same 5yrs cap & ruling as HDB flat. So i think matured & privatised EC condos should be price higher
than new ECs becos of the 5 yrs cap.Just like HDB.

So since new EC condo are already selling above $700PSF.
Why are Woodsvale/Northoak Condo resale units still selling
only above $650PSF.

Woodsvale/Northoak condo should be price above $750PSF
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(4)
57%
43%
report_abu
9

Woodsvale & Northoaks Undervalued

Posted by Ben on Aug 14, 2011

Price gap seems to be widening between the new projects (new launches + recent TOP developments) and Woodsvale/Northoaks. From looking at the upcoming mega infrastructure projects, Woodsvale & Northoaks pricing may improve towards the $800psf - $850psf range. Major infrastructure developments in the pipeline are the new North-South Expressway (linking Admiralty West) and Thomson MRT Line (linking Woodlands MRT). This will see Woodlands Regional Town/Centre booming at a very much faster rate. Also with more upcoming commercial projects like the Woodlands Bizhub and Harvest @ Woodlands (near Admiralty Rd West), will also see the vicinity of Admiralty MRT Station benefitting greatly. The increase work force may boost demand for properties in the vicinity and thus, lift property prices and rental yields further.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
75%
25%
report_abu
10

Wonderful Beautiful Northoaks!

Posted by June Vas on Jul 7, 2011

Been living at Northoaks for 2 years now.... Must say that me and my family are TOTALLY happy with Everything about northoaks! You can drop by on any day and the facilities are NEVER overcrowded. It has a huge area with lovely walkways. The swimming pool is very big that it surprised us totally!
I believe that Northoaks is a secret Gem in the north! We were surprised to have found a condo that looks this way! ;) The management is super good and keeps the whole condo super beautiful! Well done guys!
Even my friends who visit and pleasantly surprise.
Travelling is not a problems at all, MRT is just there, and bus services are good. Plus living in spore we are kind of pampered if we think that driving for 30 minutes to the city is a hassle??? No way! Livng in Northoaks i would drive even an hour! I dont mind cuz i know im coming home to a lovely lovely place....
The security is good and strict, not like those luxury condos, where it was so easy for me to drive in! But not for Northoaks! Plus the lift lobby is also secured, and can be accessed by card only. So we feel safe cuz its double security!
I have no regrets and will continue to be super happy with northoaks and everything about it. I guess most of us who lives here @ Northaoks will laugh in our hearts to all those who dislike it or have bad thigns to day about it. To those who are unhappy, sourgrapes, Who is forcing you to stay?
We are contented, happy and proud owners of apt in Northoaks!
Love Northoaks!
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
86%
14%
report_abu
11

You will be surprised with NorthOaks

Posted by NorthOaks Resident on Jul 6, 2011

1) Nice, long sloping driveway
2) Resort-feel with a super-sized pool, largest I have seen.
3) Reading room with daily newspapers
4) Sauna
5) Squash
6) 2 x Tennis Court
7) Car park right below your unit, hardly any walking required
8) Friendly Management
9) Developed by Hong Leong (one of the better developers around)
10) Very good layout, long hall and dining. You can put a large TV screen and it will look very nice across the hall.
11) MRT nearby
12) Coffee-shop and mini-mart across the road.


Summary: Woodlands was never in my consideration but when I saw NorthOaks last year, i bought it because i never expect a proper condo to be around in the North at an attractive price.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
100%
0%
report_abu
12

northoaks & woodsvale value for money

Posted by ang jimny on Jul 3, 2011

northoak & woodsvale condo are really value for money only selling below $700psf.. im sure it will go up above $700psf very soon.. great investment potential...

just look at rosewood suit selling above $850psf & woodhaven selling above $950psf.

if base on a 3 bedroom same size unit. the different between (woodsvale/northork)price to (rosewood suit/ woodhaven) price .you will need to pay $200,000-$300,000 more but the rental rate is only $500/mth higher..

eg:(woodsvale/northork)
Cost- 3 bed unit: $850k
Monthly rental: $3k

eg:(rosewood suit/woodhaven)
Cost- 3 bed unit: $1m-$1.2m
Monthly rental: $3.5k
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.2)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(2)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
100%
0%
report_abu
13

Defense

Posted by Oaker on Jul 1, 2011

To defend Northoaks, I have stayed there for 5 years and my response to these points are:

Crowded condo 720 units - there is actually plenty of space for everyone thanks to the huge condo area - only time when facilities are busy perhaps during weekends

Lack of sauna / steam bath - rubbish, there is a decent suana in the men/women toilets

Dust and noise from industrial - actually the road is a relatively quiet road and the condo being on higher ground is well shielded from noise. No dust - that's rubbish again - as the industrial area is not meant for heavy industries

Overall, a great condo and I am not surprised with its proximity to MRT, future thomson line and rapid transit to johor that it will cross 700psf soon
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students and Western Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(4)
100%
0%
report_abu
14

Worth each cent !

Posted by Market watcher on Jun 27, 2011

Overall the prices in Woodlands area have well appreciated in the last couple of years. Good thing to note here, the prices are affordable. When u compare with the recent launch of Woodhaven which is asking around 950 to 1000psf, Northoaks is still great value for money. It's bigger, near MRT, with all facilities. The management have done a great job of maintaining this project in good shape. I don't see much difference in pricing between it's neighbor Woodsvale. Eggs of the same basket however Northoaks is bigger in size n selling at Hdb pricing. Iam 100% certain there is atleast 100psf room for growth n can touch easily 700 to 750psf.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Students and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.8)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(5)
100%
0%
report_abu
15

NOT WORTH!

Posted by sonic rabbit on Jun 22, 2011

Condo just besides industrial area. Noisy and dusty. You can hear heavy trucks drive by always and too many units in the condo,anyway it a low end condo.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
20%
80%
report_abu
16

720UNITS,CROWDED CONDO!

Posted by freeman forever.... on Jun 19, 2011

Can you imagine?with 720 units is super crowded in the condo,in term of the facilities is not full as there's no sauna or steam bath...no shopping centre nearby and it is noisy as truck speeding passby gambas every morning,dusty is another problem because industrial are nearby and no joke,it really get dirty easily and always have to close the windows with no choice, for drivers,need to drive along ave12 which is a long way to expressway and always pack with cars & trucks...lastly if you are looking for a relax,resort & quite condo then northoak is not the choice,not worth considering.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.5)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(2)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(2)
Property Management
(2)
20%
80%
report_abu
17

Excellent choice!

Posted by Ben Aw on Dec 3, 2010

My family and I were sourcing for an apt unit with full facilities and accidentally chanced upon this little-known but precious gem! We viewed a couple of condos in the west and north and Northoaks is no doubt one of the best we have seen. This is especially so in terms of the maintenance as well as management team. The maintenance is top-notched with landscaping and facilities kept in excellent condition!! The walkways and mini gardens are a joy to walk in especially after dinner with the family. Beautiful horticultural landscapes! Lastly, the pool is GIGANTIC for a condo, and fortunately for us, we wake up to the beautiful full view of the pool and water features :). Nothing else to ask for more! Perhaps bowling alley?? :)
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
70%
30%
report_abu
18

Resident in NorthOaks for 10 years

Posted by Lily Chong on Oct 2, 2010

First step into Northoaks 10 years ago, we were amazed with the resort style and ecclusivity of the place. The swimming pool is huge and layout is perfect, for serious swimmers or casual water play with kids, the slide satisfied the kids well ! Interior of my unit is regular in shape, airy and bright. Mgt is superb in upkeeping the facilities and outlook. Facilities is complete with gym, squash court, table tennis, tennis, sauna, bubble pool, and parking is convenient at basement and 1st level.

Privatising in Oct 2010, meaning foreigners can purchase.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
75%
25%
report_abu
19

Northoaks

Posted by Alvin Wong on Sep 23, 2010

This is my first experience staying in condo and I must say that Northoaks came very close as my dream house. Every facilities here are as closed to what I expected to have. There is a Tennis court, a Gym, Big children playground, 3 BBQ pit, basement car park and a huge swimming pool come with slides and jacuzzi. Admiralty MRT is just few minutes walk away and lots of eatery around the condo vicinity. Going to JB is even nearer than going to my office, it is just 3 mins drive to check point.

If you are looking for a condo in the north, do not hesitate now.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(5)
71%
29%
report_abu
20

Nice condo

Posted by Highlander on Aug 27, 2010

this is definitely a well kept secret in the north - what looks to be a humble facade on the outside actually contains a fantastic pool and a resort-like world of its own - definitely liveable
I recommend this building for: Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.8)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(5)
57%
43%
report_abu
21

Family delight

Posted by Oaksman on Aug 9, 2010

I stayed in Northoaks before in one of the ground floor units. It was fantastic. Windy, 5metres away from pool but due to the layout we were shielded from the noise (usually on weekends from families playing in pool)
Pool is HUGE and deep and it's great fun for those with kids - a very charming communal experience. The management rocks - to them Northoaks is a labour of love I believe. One of the best condos Woodlands has to offer I'm sure - given the chance I'll stay there again.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.5)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(5)
71%
29%
report_abu
22

Northoaks

Posted by Rebecca Lee on Jul 26, 2009

We moved into Northoaks 2 years ago, now looking for a bigger unit in the same condo as my parents will be joining us in Singapore early next year. Certainly, we are happy with the location and facilities here.
U can get information abt the property in the website. Besides Northoaks, I am sharing more about Woodlands. Hope this help those who are relocating to Woddlands, as i cant find this information before I left Perth for Singapore.
In Northoaks, the management office held regular activities for residents here. I have signed up my children for goat farm and fruit farm visit at S$5 per head, we had a wondeful time.
Last year, there was national day fun day, residents set up stall to sell stuffs. There was baby contest, my boy came out in 2nd place! Coming up this year, there will be a 3 mins talent competition, should be interesting.
In woodlands area, there are much to explore too. We are near to a industry area, Senoko, as we discovered there are many factories outlet sales. I got my TV cabinet, sofa, dinning table set, bed frame for 80% discount at Barang Barang sales. When we hold small gathering at home, we wld go to Frassler Gourmet factory for discounted food like japaness sashimi party platters and smoked salmon. Yummy!
The American school is about 3.5km away. However, there are several schools near by.
There is a big children playground just outside Northoaks compound, my children love to play there.
We visited the Mandai Zoo quite often as well, as it is near Woodlands.
The pool here is huge, resort liked, come with jacuzzi and slides. My boy learns to swim here.
Hope the above helps.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
71%
29%
report_abu
23

Northoaks

Posted by Edmund Tan on Feb 26, 2009

I just bought this condo after comparing with woodsvale, given the price it is a good buy especially for those with kids as there are lots of nearby facilities and good swimming pool etc.For those who are driving? Carpark lot is just below your apartment and also link to Basement...cool..
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.2)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(4)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(4)
57%
43%
report_abu
24

Northoaks

Posted by Yew on Sep 22, 2008

Find that it is very convenient, walking distance to Admiralty MRT, 28min to Orchard. Near to Causeway point and Civic Centre by bus or MRT or car for all the shopping and children classes. Large swimming pool, spa pool and children fun pool, nice landscapping for the pool area. Full condo facilities. Those blocks facing the open land/garden are really quiet. I think it is a very good buy at the price that they are currently selling.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
57%
43%
report_abu

Write a Review for Northoaks

You need to Login to write a review.

Condo Featured Agents

Northoaks featured sale & rental agents.
CLOGO.80.V60 Jay Lee
ERA REALTY NETWORK PTE LTD
Call (+65) 92228778
Contact bluearrow
CLOGO.48936109.V60 Vincent MU Shen
HUTTONS ASIA PTE LTD
Call (+65) 98483608
Contact bluearrow
CLOGO.5944692.V60 TONY KWEK
REMAX - House and Home Property Pte Ltd
Call (+65) 97654270
Contact bluearrow

Latest Listings for this Project

UPHO.50801012.V75B
For Sale - S$ 900,000
3 bedrooms, 1,238 sqft
Unfurnished
UPHO.48466734.V75B
For Rent - S$ 750
, 150 sqft
Fully Furnished
UPHO.50694358.V75B
For Rent - S$ 2,900
3 bedrooms, 1,249 sqft
Unfurnished

Location

Nearest MRT Stations