Kovan Residences

Member Rating:
3.4 out of 5
Address: 1 Kovan Road 544915
Tenure: 99-year Leasehold
Units For Sale: 82   View listings View listings
Units For Rent: 60   View listings Search Singapore Street Directory
Reviews: 27   Check reviews bluearrow
Ask Guru Q&A: 13   Read Q&A bluearrow
27 Reviews For This Building
1

Falling glass is dangerous

Posted by Kovan resident on Jan 29, 2013

Whilst this condo is in a good location, there have been so many balcony glass falling since it was built. I think more than 50 pieces of glass have fallen. An article was even written in the local paper. Luckily no one has been killed or injured yet but just this month (January) we had another 3 fall. One piece shattered into the swimming pool so yet again, half of it was closed for 2 days.

The owners have all formed a group to lobby the developer but so far all that has happened is that most unit have a clear plastic put on the glass to stop it falling when it shatters. That doesn't appear to be working.

Buyers beware as you should know of this major faulty and safety issue before buying here. You can contact the management office or BCA department as they all know about it.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
100%
0%
report_abu
2

Well,well,well.

Posted by Mr. Nicholas Teo on Jul 15, 2012

This house is bigger than my kovan melody condo.but,the swimming pools are not fair.one too deep and one too shallow.and,the condo is also much more smaller than my kovan melody condo.but,things are going very well despite the heat that made our balcony glass shelter because of expansion.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(3.8)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(3)
Condo Facilities
(3)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(3)
0%
100%
report_abu
3

Seriously??

Posted by Mr. Dexter L on Jul 10, 2012

I am really shocked at the asking prices of this project especially given the fact that too many of their glass balconies are shattering and raining down on the ground endangering lives with their shards. Read this http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20120706-357463.html
I recommend this building for: City Living and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(2)
Interior / Units
(2)
Exterior / Common Areas
(2)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(3)
Nearby Amenities
(3)
Property Management
(1)
75%
25%
report_abu
4

nice place

Posted by Ms. catherine LI on Jul 9, 2012

I moved in last year and my friends and relatives all love the view of my balcony, facing landed property and very quiet during the night time. very spacious and rooms are very squarish.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(4)
0%
100%
report_abu
5

Mrt stop at doorstep!

Posted by Mr. Adreyan Lim on May 12, 2012

Imaging once you open your door with mrt train stop right Infront of you!

It convenient for travellers.
If I stays I would consider going green even selling my car.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.7)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
33%
67%
report_abu
6

not for quality living. Worst than HDB.

Posted by Andrew on Jan 11, 2012

The internal size for the unit is still reasonable for a start up family. But the external environment is bad. If you stay there, all your curtain are drawn end up facing the 4 wall everyday!
Developer design the condo that is face to face and has no privacy.
It is definitely not a choice for quality living unless you just want a roof over your head and so call stay in private property.
There is no privacy and make resale value poor!

Pool facing is the worst unit and also having a swimMing pool that you will not want to use except maybe for the first time.

People buy Condo for quality living but this condo design is worst than most HDB. The only good thing about the condo is near MRT and there is a bus terminal nearby but Driving is night mare as the road outside is always conjested til late night! Not near expressway and drive to town take a longer time than taking MRT.. Only for people who dont own a car is alright.
Dont ever think of buying for own stay as it is not worth it. Many HDB or EC is much better than this condo when come to facing! The only good reason for investing in this condo maybe to rent out for students or elderly who dont bother of quality of living but than they may prefer to choose a HDB instead! you will end up feel like being lock up inside a room with 4 wall the time. Visit a unit that face the pool and you will understand what i mean! You may want to question who is the developer! Are they designing condo for people to stay?
I recommend this building for: Students.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(2.2)
Interior / Units
(2)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(3)
Nearby Amenities
(4)
Property Management
(2)
67%
33%
report_abu
7

Nice finish for the Facilities

Posted by S K on Oct 4, 2011

Kovan Residences is value for money and yet high grade finishes, resort style living, fall in love at first sight.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities and Luxury & Prestige.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
17%
83%
report_abu
8

Kampong Urban Living

Posted by Leister on Oct 2, 2011

Looking for good kampong urban living. Choose Kovan residences. The stacks are close enough to give you the feel of old times, but still have the modern facilities. The Gym and the Sauna Room are class. Good breeze and the quiet of the Kovan road. Closeness to the MRT/Bus, Banks and the petrol kiosks is a very good advantage.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
20%
80%
report_abu
9

Impractical living

Posted by Leedon on Oct 1, 2011

The units facing each other and termed 'pool view' are horrible. Too close to opposite blocks because the swimming pool is long and slim. The ones facing the road are noisy so the only good ones are the ones at the back or corners. Place feels cheap, congested and workmanship is questionable overall. Just feel the walls and you wonder if they last long. Not upmarket enough to deserve above $1,000psf for a 99-year leasehold project that is not even in popular districts. The mall opposite is just very average. Very little room for price appreciation here in future. Wear and tear over the next 5 years will bring the price down for a property of such average and forgettable design.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.3)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(2)
Nearby Amenities
(2)
Property Management
(1)
50%
50%
report_abu
10

Good Urban Living

Posted by Wise Buyer on Sep 30, 2011

Excelling place for urban living. Makes life so much easier. Clear lay-out of the units. Transport links and closeness to the Malls are amazing. Very eco-friendly structure. Planter areas allows green living in the vertical. Very good breeze.

There should have been at least two tennis courts.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.5)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
20%
80%
report_abu
11

Cluttered environment

Posted by Northlight on Sep 29, 2011

Near MRT but poor workmanship! Already showing signs of wear and tear although the property is supposed to be new. location wise, further down the road towards NEX is better. Will rather buy east coast with this type of psf. not worth it!
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
83%
17%
report_abu
12

Lousy design

Posted by HouseHunter on Sep 28, 2011

Common facilities area is so cluttered. Children's playground? Asking for sky high price at this area is ridiculous.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
75%
25%
report_abu
13

Good Buy and Value for Money

Posted by Happy Buyer on Sep 28, 2011

We are very happy to have purchased the unit. The interior landscaping and the sauna room are very good. Closeness to the MRT and the shopping areas makes life very convenient. The jogging track and the childeren play areas are enjoyable. The southern breeze is very good.

The stacks and the towers should have a bit more apart. Sauna room should have more privacy. Too many planter areas and some planter spaces are practically unusable.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.5)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
40%
60%
report_abu
14

Jewel of D19

Posted by Guru Fan on Jul 22, 2011

Arguably the best condo in D19, except for units facing pool has so little privacy.

Also the spa pavilion is such a waste.

Windy most of the time, transport link and amenities are really second to none.
I love Kovan Residences.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.3)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(4)
40%
60%
report_abu
15

Definitely Good Buy

Posted by Andrew Lee on Jun 27, 2011

Although some of my friends have been holding back on purchase, I have decided not to wait and actively looking for units closely mrt, and have seen quite a number of condo in d19. Realize only kovan residences and kovan melody are truly at mrt doorstep and extremely convenient. I not keen on the smaller boutiques. I have seen a few of kovan res units that have TOP and have offered for 3 of them. Should be able to secure 1 of them. I more keen on the pool view and no noon sun and away from noise. Wish me luck.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
17%
83%
report_abu
16

Really one of the best condos???

Posted by valerie on Jun 15, 2011

Saw last transaction at nearly 1200psf, convinced that market has gone insane.
Hall is decent sized, but agreed privacy is an issue with some rooms just meters away from opposite stack. Not a very spacious development.
Don't think current asking is sustainable long term at all for such a project, esp that it's leasehold.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.8)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(2)
Transport Links
(3)
Nearby Amenities
(3)
Property Management
(1)
57%
43%
report_abu
17

One of best condo seen

Posted by Isabelle Lim on Jun 12, 2011

I understand that a few units have just received TOP status and have a few 3 br.

I simply love those that are high floor, pool facing - especially stack 9 and 12. No noon sun at all, breezy and bright and of course fantastic pool view from bedroom n living room.

I see latest transacted px from ura for 1259sqft is $1.51m and px likely to increase further as the whole project receive TOP. So My husband and I are looking to get a 3 br at kovan residence soon.

Cheers
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
29%
71%
report_abu
18

Best Condo in D19 - Serangoon/Kovan area

Posted by Michael on Jun 11, 2011

Arguably the best condo in D19 - Serangoon/Kovan area. Just 1 minute to Kovan MRT by covered walkway.1 MRT stop to NEX mall. 15 minutes to City. Wet market/NTUC/Heartland nearby.

Design based on D9/10/11 concept. With balcony and planter. You can have your own garden! Brand new with lots of facilities.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
33%
67%
report_abu
19

Location location location

Posted by Vincent Sim on Jun 7, 2011

I and my wife keen on this project. We hv also seen a few other projects like sunglade, the scala, even compass height. We realise nothing beats staying at kovan residences. Firstly it's brand new to TOP. Pricing is certainty reasonable compared to the the scala asking 1500 -1700psf and not yet TOP. Some more, heartland mall is so nearby and close to my daughter enrichment Class

Hope to get unit here for stay. Thereafter can also rent out.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
33%
67%
report_abu
20

Appalled with neighbour proximity

Posted by David on Jun 7, 2011

Managed to view actual unit last week, was appalled at how near units are to one another. You can almost shake hand with your neighbour from some of the rooms. The rooms might as well face concrete walls which offer more proximity.

Also, a lot of space wastage on huge balcony and planters. Landscaping is decent, but walkways are narrow.

Am surprised at the current asking prices. Definitely having hesitations about this development.
I recommend this building for: Families with Children.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1.8)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(2)
Transport Links
(3)
Nearby Amenities
(3)
Property Management
(1)
50%
50%
report_abu
21

Good location. Very convenient

Posted by Nancy Tan on May 28, 2011

1. Good location - mrt at doorstep, amenities
2. Brand new - Top v soon
3. Full condo facilities
4. Luxurious development
5. Good for stay n investment
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(5)
Condo Facilities
(5)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(5)
33%
67%
report_abu
22

Concerns on internal walls / layout

Posted by David Lee on May 23, 2011

1) I was very surprised that the walls separating the rooms & toilets are not solid concrete but "PARTITIONS". If you knock, it is hollow sound.
2) Layout of swimming pools, gyms and amenities is "CLAUSTROPHOBIC" cramped resort living. 3) The whole development is very close to the main roads of UpperSerangoon, Kovan, Lowland Road and Simon Road as roads are widened.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
67%
33%
report_abu
23

Good location

Posted by Yeow Meng Wong on Nov 21, 2010

Been to the showflat today. Liked it very much! The location, MRT, good food nearby (fav Lasi Lemak), Heartland mall, NEX (coming soon), near parents etc. Except the balcony and planter is huge! Do I really want to pay for something I dont need? Currently, heard that 3BR subsale going for 1k PSF.
I recommend this building for:
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4)
Interior / Units
(4)
Exterior / Common Areas
(3)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(3)
40%
60%
report_abu
24

Kovan residence

Posted by street man on Apr 21, 2010

Very good location with a lot of eateries.
I recommend this building for: Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4.5)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(4)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(4)
25%
75%
report_abu
25

Nice but cannot afford

Posted by showroom shopping on Feb 4, 2010

Visited the showsuites at the actual units. Overall, the biggest draw of the development is the location - MRT at the doorstep, opp market and mall with all the conveniences of good food, easy access to town and the future NEXX Mall at Serangoon MRT interchange.

Units are generally big and spacious (at least by today's standards). Layouts are modelled after D9 and 10 more luxury developments. Design-wise, it is certainly a notch up vs Kovan Melody next door.

Development is close to some international schools so there may be a potential rental market for expats who like newer and bigger apartments.

Would have been better if the development has more green and space. But it is one of the better ones of the recent launches.

Good potential but prices are high due to bigger sized units. PSF wise, 850-900 psf is reasonable by recent standards.
I recommend this building for: City Living, Families with Children, Luxury & Prestige, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(4)
Interior / Units
(5)
Exterior / Common Areas
(3)
Condo Facilities
(3)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(3)
50%
50%
report_abu
26

To buy or not to buy

Posted by Albert on Jun 11, 2009

I like this condo very much and have been monitoring the progress even before the project launch. The price is on the high side for a LH99 project, even after the discounts in early 2009 (3BR abt 800k+). Many buyers were chasing after the price and pushing the price higher due to positive sentiments from the recent rally in the stock market. Developer adjusted the price up every week based on demand. Now in June 2009, 3BR is 1 million. This could be the peak already. If i buy a 3 BR for 1 million+, i bear the high loan payment for a long long time. And also, how much more can i resell a LH99 1 million 3 BR for in 5-10 years' time if i so decide to sell it? Will still continue to monitor the project....
I recommend this building for: City Living, Outdoors & Activities, Families with Children, Peace & Quiet, Luxury & Prestige, Students, Western Expats and Asian Expats.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(1)
Interior / Units
(1)
Exterior / Common Areas
(1)
Condo Facilities
(1)
Transport Links
(1)
Nearby Amenities
(1)
Property Management
(1)
67%
33%
report_abu
27

kovan residence

Posted by jasmine sim on Nov 19, 2008

i went to view the condo, i like it very much, location is very good except the price is too high. compare with kovan melody, for 2bed room, kovan melody have bath tub and also dry n wet kitchen , whereas kovan residence dont have, so this is one of the weak point, and of course the price is to pricely
I recommend this building for: City Living.
Reviewer's Overall Rating
(3.8)
Interior / Units
(3)
Exterior / Common Areas
(3)
Condo Facilities
(4)
Transport Links
(5)
Nearby Amenities
(5)
Property Management
(3)
0%
100%
report_abu

Write a Review for Kovan Residences

You need to Login to write a review.

Condo Featured Agents

Kovan Residences featured sale & rental agents.
CLOGO.50626905.V60 Brian Tai
HSR INTERNATIONAL REALTORS PTE LTD
Call (+65) 98789982
Contact bluearrow
CLOGO.80.V60 LiLi Koh
ERA REALTY NETWORK PTE LTD
Call (+65) 90616162
Contact bluearrow
CLOGO.6489401.V60 Shelly Koh
PROPNEX REALTY PTE LTD
Call (+65) 93623422
Contact bluearrow

Latest Listings for this Project

UPHO.22152358.V75B
For Sale - S$ 1,552,000
3 bedrooms, 1,259 sqft
Partially Furnished
UPHO.50411539.V75B
For Rent - S$ 4,500
3 bedrooms, 1,280 sqft
Fully Furnished
UPHO.8395990.V75B
For Rent - S$ 4,500
3 bedrooms, 1,259 sqft
Fully Furnished

Location

Nearest MRT Stations